One of the very few upsides of being unemployed for long periods of time is that I’ve had the time and inclination to DIY lots of stuff. In the past year I’ve made ridiculous amounts of origami, did all my wedding flowers, started cutting my own hair, redecorated on the cheap, and put together all sorts of things that were not intended by the original manufacturers. It’s really nice, actually, and most of the things I’ve done are simple and easily Google-able. I get a sense of accomplishment when I’ve made something with my own hands – double if it works! I’m not the most traditionally crafty upcycled tool in the shed.

Everyone has one of those rooms in their houses – that small, dark room you can’t do anything with. That room is my study/guest room, and despite my decorating efforts, it still felt cold and uninviting. It has a perfectly comfy futon and I deliberately put some books in there so it would turn into a reading space, but that never happened. Until, on a whim, I thought of the next step…

127_800x600

That’s right – a reading fort!

I’ve never grown out of my childlike love for forts and hideaways. I’ve always loved being in small, warm, spaces – on the inside looking out. Some might say that it’s a subconscious desire to return to the womb – they may be right, but I’m not sure my Mum would like that very much.

Apologies for the quality of the photo, but I’ve installed a great floor lamp in there as well – just one I had literally sitting around. I have no idea why I hadn’t thought of it before. On the other wall I also have fairy lights, and I’m considering getting more to go in my fort. You can see I have some art on the walls, and just out of shot is a bookcase. I have lots of cushions and a blanket on the futon, and it’s perfect. And all it is is some spare fabric I had lying around, strung up with spare embroidery thread and masking tape. As simple as you can get, and equally precarious. If it is still up by morning, it will be a miracle.

On the other wall is my desk and chair, and lots of postcards. I’m getting a sewing machine in the next couple of weeks, so my base of operations will probably be there. I might see if I can get some awesome stickers to deface my black and white desk as well.

P.S. I might be beginning a wonderful collaboration soon. More details to come!

