I’m finally coming around to summer. A person of European descent living in a sub-tropical country, summer is my traditional enemy but I’m slowly learning to appreciate it. I do my swim training and have more daylight in which to party. In the afternoon, the heat eases and there’s a gorgeous pale yellow light. The sunsets are spectacular, and sadly enhanced by bushfire smoke.

I’m starting to enjoy wearing pretty sundresses, putting flowers in my hair, and feeling the sun on my sunscreened face. I have cute sunglasses. I even like barbecues now (with the realization that not everyone went to my dad’s school of charcoaling).

I love my family get-togethers on Boxing Day. I like planning New Year’s Eve parties. I have great memories of sultry, candle-lit nights. I even keep my toenails permanently painted, and have great fun choosing colours (the current selection is lilac). My favourite at the moment, though, is bright sunshine yellow.

I’m slowly learning to embrace summer as a friend and overlook its bad qualities, much as you do with real friends. That doesn’t mean that I don’t rejoice when I pull out the winter woolies, but we have come to an easy truce.

Part of my summer fun is to put together a playlist of songs. Most are summery, but I seem to go through different themes and moods. Last year’s was quite light, poppy and dancey, but this year’s seems to be a bit darker, weirder, and, dare I say it – a bit sleazy. I hope you enjoy.

Tenacious D – Double Team
Daft Punk – Around the World
Lady Gaga – Judas
Sonic Youth – Shaking Hell
QOTSA – Make it Wit Chu (Era Vulgaris version)
QOTSA – Skin on Skin
Florence and the Machine – Girl With One Eye
Sonic Youth – Massage the History
Pink Floyd – Interstellar Overdrive
Ramones – I wanna be your boyfriend
QOTSA – How to Handle a Rope
The Beatles – Helter Skelter
The Beatles – Within You Without You
Two Bears – Bearhug
Ramones – Blitzkrieg Bop
Run DMC vs Jason Nevins – It’s Like That
Violent Femmes – Blister in the Sun
Flock of Seagulls – I Ran
Them Crooked Vultures – Interlude With Ludes
The Beatles – Happiness is a Warm Gun
Bronski Beat – I Feel Love
Goldfrapp – Strict Machine
Tame Impala – Desire Be, Desire Go
Tame Impala – The Bold Arrow of Time
Pink Floyd – Set The Controls For The Heart of the Sun (Pompeii version)
Spinnerette – Ghetto Love
Warsaw – Warsaw
Blondie – Heart of Glass
The Prodigy – Breathe
Lady Gaga – Electric Chapel
Kate Bush – Hounds of Love
Pink Floyd – One Of These Days
Motorhead – Ace Of Spades
Jethro Tull – Aqualung
Machine Gun Fellatio – Pussy Town
Frank Zappa – Disco Boy

