So, me and Inkendup got married last week.

We planned to get married in a beautiful park by a lake filled with native birdlife. However, come the morning of the wedding, it was raining and freezing and Chris and our celebrant had to move the ceremony into our reception venue. This wasn’t what I wanted, but I had no say. I had my little tantrum, then took a deep breath and got on with it. It turned out so much better than I could have hoped for. Our ceremony was warm, funny, personal and lovely. We were able to get some photos later at the park and lake when the weather cleared, so it wasn’t a total loss. Everyone, including us, was warm, dry and comfortable. Our reception was bright and colourful, full of great food and music with the people we loved. We had friends and family come in from all over the country, and everyone thought that the whole thing was just so us.

I was very nervous in the days leading up to it, but in the end I made peace with the planning process and let it all happen. Having a champagne breakfast whilst getting my hair done definitely helped! In the end, I married my best friend and got to be a princess for a day. Now, I don’t have the professional pictures back yet, but hopefully here’s some good ones that’ll show off my dress:

Dress: Wedding Dress Fantasy, custom made
Hair & Make up: PhoenixLane
Shoes: Converse
Flowers: Silkflora, assembled by me
Rainbow socks: Gift from a friend a million years ago
Moral Support: Rooster Teeth/Achievement Hunter

I might do a proper photo post later on when I get the professional photos back. I’m looking forward to seeing them, and I’m hoping to make a book out of them too.

Being married is a highly surreal experience, but, it must be said, it’s a great one. I highly recommend it.

 

